Understanding Pennsylvania workers’ compensation basics

On Behalf of | Aug 14, 2020 | Workers' Compensation

After a job-related accident, workers’ compensation can be of significant benefit. However, it can also be very complicated. It can be difficult to find simple, straightforward answers to your questions about work comp because so many online resources target employers rather than workers. 

better understanding of workers’ compensation helps you to stand up for your rights more effectively. Here are answers to some of the most fundamental questions you may have. 

Who is eligible for workers’ compensation?

Pennsylvania law requires most employers to carry workers’ compensation insurance coverage for their workforce. While most employees are eligible to claim compensation, some are exempt. 

Federal employees, longshoremen and railroad workers have other compensation programs that cover them. Agricultural workers are exempt if they earn less than $1,200 in a calendar year or work fewer than 30 days for one employer. In Pennsylvania, coverage is optional for domestic servants. 

When does workers’ compensation coverage begin?

Assuming that you are eligible for work comp and your employer has complied with the mandate requiring it, your employers’ insurance covers you from the very first day on the job and extends until the end of your employment. 

What if your employer does not have workers’ compensation insurance?

Workers’ compensation insurance protects employers from lawsuits by employees hurt on the job. By not carrying the required coverage, your employer forfeits that protection. In this case, you could sue him or her for damages related to your job-related injury. Because not carrying work comp insurance is against the law, your employer could also face criminal prosecution.